FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedPND - choosing a LMC for number 2

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
moggles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote moggles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PND - choosing a LMC for number 2
    Posted: 03 November 2008 at 9:29pm
Hi, I'm new to this and hope someone out there can help.
Here is my story...
I am still in recovery from a severe bout of PND/Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from a complicated delivery.
My sweet girl was born 2 days before Christmas and there was no support/midwife was stretched/retained placenta/couldn't breastfeed yadayadaydada.
So things ticked along (in hindsight I was 'over coping') until Moo was almost one and then I crashed big time. I have been on Loxamine for almost a year and just cut down to a half dose. I am supported by a fantastic GP who is very holistic and has used homeopathics too.
I went to a psychotherapist weekly for about 5 months until it got too much of a financial strain (because Moo is over one when it was picked up I didn't qualify for MMH services).
Anyway sorry to ramble but I find myself unexpectedly pregnant and I can't decide what to do in terms of choosing a LMC.
I know I will need a lot of support this time and I'm not certain my midwife can provide it though we really gelled she was just so stretched. My mother thinks I should book in for a caesar as she feels I shouldn't have been left to labour so long last time but she is a theatre nurse and had 4 caesars herself so I'm not convinced.
What to do? I really want to reclaim my birth experience this time and don't want things to be too medical but I do know I need to feel safe and supported.
Has anyone had this dilemma with number two?
Thanks everyone!
Sponsored Links

Kellz View Drop Down