FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Lockedovulation question

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
_SMS_ View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote _SMS_ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ovulation question
    Posted: 02 May 2010 at 4:11pm
Im kind of new to this, i have no idea how to chart etc.

Just wanting to know how long you normally ovulate & when is the best time to BD?

Any other info like that would be good
Sponsored Links

tarns View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tarns Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 May 2010 at 4:56pm
There isnt really a standard answer to your question.....I find it best to use OPK (ovulation prediction tests) they are like Preg tests but they test the levels of Luteinising Hormone in your urine. When the OPK goes positive then you will generally ovulate within 12-36 hours. The egg stays viable for about 24 hrs then if not fertilised you will get your AF in due course. Hope that helps a little.

A `normal' cycle is supposedly 28 days with ovulation occurring on Day 14 of your cycle but many many women do not have a cycle like this.

I wasn't sure if I was ovulating at all so I started charting (taking temp each morning). This is a bit of a pain, but a sure fire way to know exactly when (or if) you did ovulate that month.

BDing is best 5 days prior to ov, the day of ov and the day after as well.

GL
_SMS_ View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote _SMS_ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 May 2010 at 5:17pm
Hmmm ok, so going by my ticker that could mean today could be a good day to BD??

I havent really had a normal cycle lately so i have no idea if im ovulating at all. I guess i might give charting a go next month if AF is normal.
tarns View Drop Down